Egg + Olive Oil Hair Mask Review

September 3, 2012 at 4:19 pm 28 comments

I’m playing Pinterest guinea pig here. I’ve been seeing this healthy hair egg mask how-to being pinned and re-pinned on Pinterest over and over again, so I thought I would give it a try since it was easy and I had all 3 of the ingredients handy. It’s supposed to make your hair soft, healthy, and shiny. I don’t exactly need softer hair, as mine is already extremely soft and fine, but because I heavily highlight my hair, it’s in desperate need of some shine and strengthening! Here is what the pin says:


“Egg yolks won’t only make your hair softer, shinier and healthier but help you to grow it long as well. And, in order to get all the benefits egg yolks provide, simply mix 2 egg yolks with 2 tbsp of olive oil, dilute the mixture by adding a cup of water and then slowly and thoroughly massage this mask into your scalp. Give your hair and scalp 15 to 20 minutes to absorb all the needed nutrients and then rinse off.”

Now, I know that hair is made up of proteins, so putting eggs (which are high in protein) in the hair didn’t seem totally crazy to me. I always thought that the egg whites contained the most protein, not the yolks, but I had every intention of following this recipe exactly, so I just used the yolks. I mixed the yolks, water, and olive oil together with a whisk and poured the mixture into an old hair coloring bottle for easier application. Despite having very thin, fine hair, I used the entire mixture in order to completely saturate all of my hair, and so I didn’t waste any. ;) I probably needed about half of what I made, but oh well. I massaged it into my scalp as I applied it, as well as after it was all over my head. I would’ve used a shower cap to cover my hair but I didn’t have any, so I used a highlighting cap. You’ll want to find something to cover your hair with, as the mixture is pretty watery and runny. And eggs aren’t exactly something you want dripping all over you. I left it on for about 20 minutes, maybe a little longer, and rinsed it out. The post didn’t say anything about whether or not to wash your hair afterwards, but I couldn’t imagine not washing egg out of my hair, so I used shampoo, but no conditioner. The first thing I noticed was that my hair was about 85% easier to comb through while wet than it usually is. My hair is very prone to tangling and matting, so this was a nice change for me. Once dried, my hair did feel a bit softer than usual, and perhaps a tiny bit shinier, but not so much that I was completely wowed. As for strength and repair, I didn’t notice much of a difference there, either. This was the only time I’ve tried this, so perhaps using it more frequently (such as once a week or so) would provide better and more effective results, but for the first time I wasn’t overly impressed. I may or may not try it again in the future… and if I notice any improvements I will be sure to let everyone know!

Original pin linked to this website.

Entry filed under: Beauty, Reviews. Tags: , , .

Things That Suck Happy Labor Day!

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lorraine Lehto  |  November 30, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    I’ve applied 2 eggs, 1 tablespoon of olive oil and 1 tablespoon honey, and left it on for an hour.  I did this twice in one week since my hair cuticles are terribly frayed & don’t lie flat.  The second application is when I noticed a difference.  My hair wasn’t as frizzy and looked better, however, both times I’ve used it my hair was not contitioned at all afterwards.  It wasn’t as easy to comb, some snarls, and it didnt feel soft at all.  I used so much conditioner in the shower on my hair because I knew it needed a lot.  Why do so many claim it makes their hair silky, soft and tangle free?  It does not!  It only repairs it, which is good enough for me.

    Reply
    • 2. Brigitte  |  April 9, 2013 at 12:06 pm

      Egg yolks can dry your hair even with the olive oil. I used the same exact treatment with honey that you used. I have fine thin dirty blond hair. I washed it out using a WEN knock off conditioning cleanser (non lathering shampoo) and then a conditioner mask for a few minutes. My hair came out fuller, soft and the honey lightened my hair color.

      You could also try washing it out, it comes out pretty easy without shampoo, then do a coconut oil treatment. Heat up coconut oil (cold pressed! the other uses chemical to extract oil, and no scent!), a couple of tablespoons (or more for long hair) and work through your hair. Put on a shower cap and heat up with a blow dryer. Put a warm towel on your head for 20 minutes. Wash out. Even the non-lathering shampoo gets it out. I have been using this coconut oil treatment for about 6 months and my chemically damaged and dry hair looks awesome now.

      Reply
    • 3. Gula  |  March 22, 2014 at 10:22 am

      never leave on an egg mask for more than 20 minutes. and it is best to never do an egg treatment for more than twice a month .

      Reply
  • 4. Lucy  |  December 8, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Maybe next time you should try following the actual instructions lol. 2 egg yolks, 2 tbsp of olive oil and a cup of water.

    Reply
  • 5. kat  |  March 29, 2013 at 11:06 am

    my hair is thin and it made it thicker which i think my hair needs bc its frail

    Reply
  • 6. datingdish  |  April 1, 2013 at 2:07 am

    I’m doing this now. One cup of water did seem like an awful lot of water, so I’m using half a cup…I hope I’ll still get good results. Fingers crossed!

    Reply
  • 7. Carri  |  April 24, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance. I must say you have done a fantastic job with this. Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Opera. Outstanding Blog!

    Reply
  • 8. Marielle  |  May 4, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    I just did it works well

    Reply
  • 9. Simon Yam  |  May 21, 2013 at 3:14 pm

    in which type of hair will i use egg treatment 1. Fully dry, 2. Damp, 3. Wet?

    Reply
    • 10. theamyblog  |  May 21, 2013 at 7:18 pm

      I put it on my hair while dry. Dry hair is more porous, and therefore will absorb more of the mask. I’m sure it would work either way, though!

      Reply
  • 11. juleekim  |  May 23, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    I googled this hair mask recipe, but none of the instruction says put the mask on dry, non-washed hair or washed, damp hair. I don’t get it.

    Reply
    • 12. Brigitte  |  May 24, 2013 at 11:35 am

      Check out this site. It has amazing before and after pictures of using a similar hair treatment. http://blogs.noellesalon.com/2013/01/20/how-to-grow-hair-naturally-tested-and-proven.aspx

      However she mentions that she doesn’t use the egg. I do!

      So I do the vinegar rinse (I use organic Apple Cider vinegar), then rosemary. Do not wash out. (The vinegar clarifies your hair, meaning that is cleans off any product or build up you have, so you don’t need to wash your hair before you do it. Start the vinegar process with dry hair.)

      Then get your egg mixture. I warm up honey on a double boiler, (pot of water with a metal bowl floating inside) and add coconut oil and extra virgin olive oil.

      Mix honey/oil mixture together with the egg.

      Put on your hair and cover with plastic and then a towel. (I put the egg mixture in a little measuring cup which I can pour into my hand and then put in my hair.)

      I do this for 30 minutes twice a week. I also save a little bit of the honey and oil mixture and put it on my face. Skin loves honey! Also, honey will lighten your hair. You could use molasses instead if your hair is dark.

      I must say that I prefer to use this egg mask with the vinegar treatment first because it’s harder to wash out if you put it on dry hair.

      Why putting honey on your face is a good idea:
      It is suitable for all skin types, even sensitive.
      It acts as an antibacterial and anti-fungal agent and helps disinfect and speed the healing process of acne.
      It soaks up impurities and helps detoxify your skin.
      It is loaded with antioxidants (aka the good stuff your face wants) and helps restore damaged and wrinkled skin.
      It is incredibly moisturizing, but will not break out you.
      It naturally cleans your skin and leaves it super soft.

      When it is mixed with a carrier oil like coconut, it is easily applied to your skin. I even will put the honey/oil mixture on my arms. With the oil, the honey is not so sticky. Your skin feels amazing when you wash it off.

      Benefits of honey for your hair:
      http://www.theresearchpedia.com/health/superfoods/honey/benefits-of-honey-for-hair

      Reply
      • 13. Lee  |  June 8, 2013 at 2:36 am

        Brigitte what measurements do you use for the egg, oil and honey mixture?

      • 14. Brigitte  |  June 18, 2013 at 1:29 pm

        I have short hair so I use about a table spoon of honey and a table spoon of coconut oil and one egg yolk. If you have shoulder length or longer add another yolk and little bit more oil. You could also add a dab of olive oil. It is great for the skin and hair as well.

        I must say that I was out of eggs last week and I found that my hair did not feel as good as it normally does after the treatment.

  • 15. maddison  |  November 1, 2013 at 11:24 am

    I have very thin hair and it has never grown past mid boob before and I love long hair. I took this recipe and made it my own. I use 3 egg yolks and enough olive oil to saturate my hair, I don’t measure it. I don’t use water bc it is too runny and I don’t like the idea of diluting this. I put it on dry hair once a week for 20-25 minutes then shampoo and lightly condition. I’ve been doing this weekly for about three months now on top of prenatal vitamins and 5000 mcg of biotin with a glass of milk everyday. since I started, my hair is much softer and shinier. my color holds better, I have seen my hair dresser and she has not needed to trim my hair. and it’s grown about 4 inches. also I don’t straighten my hair anymore bc it is long enough to rock the messy long hair look. I wash it every other or ever two days and put argon oil on as my leave in. I thought my hair would never grow but my routine has helped immensely!

    Reply
  • 16. May  |  December 12, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    I did this treatment today following the pinterest recipe. I washed my hair then applied the egg yolk mix. After rinsing it out my hair was super super dry and har to manage or even brush so I put washed it with shampoo and conditioner (tons of it) and even after all that it was sooooo hard to brush and detangle it actually started braking off so i put alot of leave in conditioner and brushed it softly. I wasnt impressed at all. All im hoping is that at least the hair got some protein.

    Reply
    • 17. theamyblog  |  January 3, 2014 at 2:00 am

      Protein actually does dry the hair. Everyone thinks that adding protein is so great for the hair, which it is, however too much protein (or keratin) can actually do more damage than good!

      Reply
      • 18. Brigitte  |  January 6, 2014 at 1:07 pm

        Yes protein can dry out your hair. I would add more oil to the mix or use a conditioner after you wash it out.

  • 19. Prashant Agarwal  |  January 5, 2014 at 3:43 pm

    An easier, less messy alternative to using Egg Yolk directly is a ready to use Egg Yolk Oil like EYOVA. Available online at http://www.eyova.com, it’s not smelly, messy or allergenic (egg yolk can be). You can also leave it on overnight. Watch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezX3ep275ic

    Reply
  • 20. Ashley  |  January 19, 2014 at 10:25 pm

    How often can you do the egg and olive oil treatment ? Can I do it everyday for a better reasult ?

    Reply
    • 21. theamyblog  |  February 2, 2014 at 4:29 pm

      If you try it once and like the results, I’d still only do it about once a week. While protein is good for your hair, especially if it’s damaged, too much protein can make your hair very brittle.

      Reply
  • 22. Ash'Lee  |  February 10, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    I used this twice last week, and it worked. My hair grew! After I stopped using it though, I noticed a difference. It wasn’t growing and it wasn’t shiny. So I’m gonna try it twice every week from now on. (and maybe even add honey to get my hair a little lighter)

    P.S. IT SMELLS HORRIBLE!!!!

    Reply
  • 23. Breeeeee  |  February 26, 2014 at 4:21 pm

    Not a fan of the smell but it did make my hair shinier :) On the days when I’m not bothered to go through all this I use the argan oil by pro naturals on my damp hair and that’s about it :) Works like a charm

    Reply
  • 24. Rae  |  March 3, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    You’re only suppose to do this treatment 1-2 times a MONTH! As started above, too much protein can actually dry your hair. I recommend adding 3-4 tablespoons of olive oil depending on hair length. I also like to heat my oil as well. I mix the 2 eggs first with a half cup of water, heat up my olive oil, and then add it and mix. The results are wonderful. I apply it to dry hair then rinse it out with lukewarm water. Sometimes I poo afterwards, sometimes I don’t. Never really noticed a difference if I chose to poo or not afterwards.

    Reply
    • 25. Lauren  |  April 7, 2014 at 10:57 pm

      Oh man, I genuinely thought you meant poo, like in the bodily functions sense. Now I’m a little disappointed that it’s NOT what you meant.

      Reply
  • 26. coconut oil benefits for skin  |  April 6, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    Hi! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

    Reply
    • 27. theamyblog  |  April 7, 2014 at 7:20 pm

      No, sorry. I just use what wordpress.com has available and already setup.

      Reply
  • 28. Tilly  |  April 10, 2014 at 6:33 am

    Try this!
    before trying out this treatment have a shower using BABY jhonson’s shampoo which has both shampoo & conditioner in a bottle after that just wait till ur hair dry out naturally.After that just do the treatment mentioned nd its recommended to keep it just for 25mins then rinse off just by water nd wait for a couple of days then wash off regularly with that shampoo,really helpful experienced :3

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

  • Sorry I had a fight in the middle of your black panther party. 4 days ago
September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

