R.I.P Joe Paterno

January 25, 2012 at 8:09 pm Leave a comment

It’s been a sad, sad week for Penn State and college football fans. Former Penn State football coach Joe Paterno has passed away at age 85 due to complications caused by lung cancer. Although, if you didn’t know that by now, you’re probably living in a box. 🙂 I wanted to touch on this subject because I grew up in an extreme Penn State family. Just about everyone on my father’s side of my family went to Penn State- my grandfather, father, uncles, brothers, and all of my cousins but one (and myself). My family lives about 1/2 hour from State College, PA, so I am somewhat familiar with the atmosphere there even though I never attended myself. I know a lot of, if not most, people think of the Sandusky scandal when they hear Paterno’s name, which to me is unfortunate. I’m not really going to get into that because quite frankly I am sick and tired of hearing about it. All I’m going to say is that I agree from a moral standpoint he could’ve and probably should’ve done more than he did to address the situation, but at the same time there are FAR more people that have done FAR more wrong that are going under the radar and still have their jobs, so to dumb down the dedication this man put into creating his amazing legacy over a poor lapse in judgement is unfair beyond belief. He was given information, and took it to his superiors AND campus police, who are the ones who should’ve contacted appropriate law enforcement after investigating the issue. You cannot go to the police on hearsay, and that is all he had, so he did what he felt was right. Everyone is so quick to place blame on other people involved, when the fact of the matter is that ONE man raped and molested several children, and he needs to rot in prison for the rest of his life. That’s where the focus needs to be placed now.

OK, enough about that whole debacle. It sickens me that a lot of media outlets are focusing on his involvement in the Sandusky scandal now that he has passed away. He shouldn’t be remembered for this, but for all of the good he has done for the university during his 61 years (holy shit!) of coaching there. He was one of few college coaches known for caring about his players’ academics just as much as, if not more than, their playing. The rate of Penn State football player graduates is one of the highest in the country, and Joe Paterno has a lot to do with that. Penn State even has a library named after him. It’s funny that their football stadium is named after a former university president, and their library is named after a football coach.

Anyway, that’s all I really wanted to get off my chest. Lord knows about 75% of my Facebook friends have been going off about it all week, both positive and negative comments alike. May JoePa rest in peace, and his family and friends remain in my thoughts and prayers. His legacy is not one to be forgotten, or tarnished for that matter.

Entry filed under: News & Current Events, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Redbox Giveaway! Polar Pillow Giveaway

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

  • RT @SamuelLJackson: So... How many Sons A' Bitches kneeling tomorrow??!! How many of Dotards boys firing Mothfukkas?? Odds??!! 14 hours ago
January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

