R.I.P Whitney Houston

February 16, 2012 at 10:07 pm 1 comment

As pretty much everyone knows by now, legendary singer, Whitney Houston, passed away last Saturday, February 11th, 2012. Even though she’s been known for her erratic behavior and drug abuse problems for the last several years, I have to say I was totally shocked to learn of her death. I wouldn’t say I was a huge fan of hers, I mean I’ve owned only one of her albums, but I, like many others, was in fact a fan of her music and grew up listening to her. I bet if I sat down to make a list of my top 10 favorite songs to sing in the shower or alone in the car, at least half of them would be Whitney Houston songs. šŸ˜‰ It’s always sad when someone dies for any reason, especially when it’s someone with so much talent and so much to live for. I seriously thought she was getting her life together. I know there were photos of her looking kind of sloppy a week or so ago, but in general she seemed to be looking much healthier and overall better than she had in years, and her career appeared to be getting a boost- she had just recently wrapped filming on a new movie, Sparkle, and even had a performance at a pre-Grammy party the very night of the day she died. I know that there is still no official cause of death, but unfortunately I have little doubt in my mind that it wasn’t drug related. I know they found several prescription medications in the hotel room in which she was staying. Even if they were prescribed and legal, drugs can kill.

The only good thing I can see in all of these drug-related celebrity deaths is that maybe, hopefully some people take them as a wake up call and fix their lives. That they realize that drugs are nothing to mess with, and life can be ended at any given moment. In Whitney’s case, she was last seem about a half hour to an hour before she was found dead as she went in to take a bath. You just never know. Now we don’t know for sure that drugs were the cause, we don’t know if she overdosed, if it were a fatal drug combination, or if mixing alcohol with the drugs pushed her body over the edge. Even if she took her medications properly that day, her past battles with drug abuse could very well have left her body broken. Drugs can be dangerous, prescription or otherwise. Thank you, Whitney, for blessing us with your amazing voice and several hit songs that will undoubtedly live on forever. My heart goes out to her family, friends, and fans- especially her daughter, and may she rest in peace. I’m going to leave you with videos of some of my favorite Whitney Houston songs.

I Have Nothing

I Wanna Dance With Somebody

How Will I Know

When You Believe ft. Mariah Carey

Entry filed under: Entertainment, News & Current Events. Tags: , , .

26 Questions Meme… Because You Care I Won’t Give Up

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Danielle  |  February 18, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    I was so sad to hear about this šŸ˜¦ She is being buried 5 mins away from me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  

