Internet Crack

February 23, 2012 at 12:12 pm Leave a comment

Here are a some websites, ipad apps, and other internet-related things I’ve been addicted to lately. Not all of them are new, but still consuming hours of my life per day. Please proceed to checking these out with caution- if you have a life you’re happy with at the moment, do not ruin it with one of these. You’ve been warned, lol. šŸ™‚

1. Pinterest
Oh dear God, this is probably my most recent addiction. It’s basically an online personal pin board that you share with others. You can sign up through Facebook or Twitter, too, to share with your friends. I love this because I very rarely remember to save neat things I come across while surfing the web, and this is an easy, organized way to do so. Sometimes, if I’m bored enough, I just browse through other people’s pins to find more neat things! Check out my pin boards here and follow me! I currently have boards about Home Decor., Cuties (mostly cute animals), Funny Things, Food/Drinks, Crafts, Fashion, Nail Designs, Make-up, and Hair Styles. So fun, right?! Haha.

2. StumbleUpon
This is the ultimate website for curing boredom. You just sign up, make a list of your general interests, and start stumbling! Everytime you click the “stumble” button it takes you to a website that is related to the interests you gave when you signed up, totally at random. I think over half of my Pinterest posts were things I came across while using StumbleUpon! šŸ™‚ There’s also an app for it, which was just more fudge on my sundae because now I can just lay in bed with my ipad wasting precious hours rather than having to sit up at my computer, lol. Bad, so bad! I’ve especially found a lot of awesome crafts and recipes that I’m dying to try out!

3. The Sims Freeplay
The Sims definitely aren’t anything new, but only recently did I come across this free Sims app for my ipad (also available for the iphone and android). The only other Sims game I’ve ever played was The Sims 2 for Playstation 2 several years ago, and all I remember about it was that it was incredibly frustrating, so I don’t know what possessed me to download this one but oh boy am I ever glad I did. It’s much more simple than I remember the other one being- just complete goals while building your Sims town. I’m a total creeper and like to make sims based on celebrities, along with myself. In fact, my sim clone and my Justin Timberlake sim clone are “woo-hooing” at this very moment… moving on…

4. Order Up!!
I just downloaded this game app. on my ipad a few weeks ago and I’m already hooked. You get to cook and put together meals for people in your restaurant, while working towards unlocking new meals and buying new restaurants to open. I like this one so much more than those stupid restaurant, cafe, etc. games on Facebook, because it’s actually interactive. You have to cook the ingredients and put the meals together, rather than clicking on one and waiting 3 days for it to cook. Not only is it free, but once it’s downloaded you don’t need to be connected to the internet to play it, which is a big plus for me since I’m not always around wi-fi.

5. Polyvore
I soooo love this website! You can put together your own outfits! ‘Nuff said! I found this website not too long ago after seeing several people posting their Polyvore creations on Pinterest. You choose from a huge database of tops, bottoms, dresses, shoes, bags, accessories, jewelry, make-up, etc. to form your perfect “look,” and can even put everything together so it looks like an editorial spread from a fashion magazine. I just love it, and now I have to go out and buy new clothes so I can replicate my Polyvore outfits, lol. Well, I wish, anyway. Definitely check it out- so much fun.

Entry filed under: Favorite Things. Tags: , , .

Wide Awake Happy 8th Birthday, Tyler!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  

