Wide Awake

February 23, 2012 at 11:10 am Leave a comment

I have been having the hardest time sleeping at night. I’ve had problems getting a normal, good night’s sleep for several years now, but for the past few months I feel it’s gotten worse. Nothing seems to work, and I have tried so many options- melatonin, Tylenol PM, Unisom, lying in bed with no noise, lying in bed with my fan on… still no dice. The Tylenol PM and other over-the-counter sleep medications only make me anxious and wired, oddly enough. The melatonin and natural-based sleep aids seem to work sometimes, but then again I think the times when they “work” are times that I’m just so exhausted that I fall asleep anyway, since most of the time they don’t do a thing. I’ve never tried prescription sleep medications because quite frankly they scare me. I’ve come to the conclusion that having something on my TV to fall asleep to helps more than complete silence and darkness- lately I’ve been replaying the same movies on low volume. Now I know there’s a ton of things that factor into sleeplessness, stress being a major factor which is definitely an issue of mine. Lately I’ve been able to fall asleep for a few hours, but then I wake up and am unable to fall asleep again until sometime the next afternoon at which time I become so tired that I have to take a nap, wake up around dinner time, and the process starts all over. I’ve tried keeping myself awake, with no naps, until it’s a proper time to go to bed for the night, but I never make it. Grrr, it’s so damn frustrating. I’m sitting here typing this at 6am- not because I’m up for work and starting my day, but because I just got done laying in my bed for the past 5 hours wide awake and finally said fuck it, might as well get up and do something. Even if I felt tired enough to go to bed now it would be a waste, because I have to get up in 2 hours to get Tyler off to school and then have to try falling asleep all over again.

To make things worse, I swear I just heard a mouse in the wall… oh. my. gosh. REALLY not helping my sleeping situation here. Thank god I have 3 cats, and hopefully they get it before I find it, lol.

Entry filed under: Life. Tags: , , , .

I Won’t Give Up Internet Crack

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  

