The Belated Mother’s Day Post

May 16, 2012 at 7:07 am Leave a comment

Happy belated Mother’s Day to all of the mamas and mamas-to-be out there! My day was pretty low-key, but nice nonetheless. My mom isn’t huge on flowers or chocolate (strange woman, huh?!) and I didn’t want to spend money that I don’t have to get her something tacky just for the sake of getting her a gift, so I made her dinner instead. I made pot roast with carrots and mashed potatoes, which was pretty decent if I do say so myself. Seriously, it was a big deal, lol. I lack in the cooking department more than the average human being, so for me to make a meal that didn’t consist of pasta, grilled chicken, and the microwave was an amazing and rare occurrence in our house! I have been improving, though!

Tyler gave made a card and a mug that he decorated in school, which were both adorable. Homemade gifts are the best from kids. ❤ Although I did tell him that while it's cute now, he shouldn't expect to get away with it when he's older. 😉 Just kidding… or am I? Haha. Since we're low on money lately I told Jon not to worry about getting me anything, so he just took me to Starbucks and Qdoba for a frappuccino and a burrito. Sounds kind of lame, but it made me a very happy girl! And not only because I love both of those things dearly, but because we saved so much money that is almost unheard of at those 2 places. That day was part of Starbucks’ “Frappy Hour” week, which meant frappuccinos were half-off between 3-5pm. Jon and I each got a venti, the largest size, for only $5 and some change. An amazing feat on it’s own. Then we headed over to Qdoba and it was $5 burrito Friday. Jon got a regular burrito, so it was $5.35 for his (including tax). Mine would’ve been about $9 because the deal doesn’t work on the kind that I got, but since it was our 11th meal purchase with our Qdoba perks card, my meal was free. Therefore, we got 2 venti frappes and 2 normally $7-$8 burritos for just under $11. Eat that extreme couponers! Yeah yeah, they might get $1,000 worth of groceries for free but I’d like to see them do better at Starbucks and Qdoba! 🙂

I did get an amazing surprise at my doorstep on Mother’s Day, though. My dad had 6 dozen gourmet chocolate strawberries from Shari’s Berries delivered to me, and they were oh so delicious. I’m obsessed with chocolate covered strawberries, and these were some of the best ones I’ve had. Even the $5 single chocolate covered strawberry I (stupidly) bought at Godiva once wasn’t as good as these babies! Om nom nom nom indeed!


Yes, 2 were already missing by the time I got around to taking a picture. I just couldn’t resist! Needless to say, it did not take me long to get through that box… although, being the kind woman that I am, I did share one with Tyler and my brother.

Kind of off-topic, but I’m so so excited that Britney Spears has finally been confirmed as a new judge on X-Factor! I watched and enjoyed the show last year, but this is going to make it absolutely mandatory for me to watch. I can’t NOT watch Britney! I know a lot of people are skeptical about how she’ll do, but it’s Britney, bitch! Everything she touches turns to gold, even a pair of hair clippers she used to cue ball her head. 😉 She’s my girl, and I can’t wait for the show to start in September. The picture below explains my emotions perfectly.

Entry filed under: Family & Friends, Life. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

May 16th- What You’re Reading May 17th- Snack

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

  • I can't watch pitch perfect without cringing at how fucking dumb and tacky it is... yet I can watch Full House and be fine (usually). 🤷🏼‍♀️ 2 days ago
May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

