Oh, Hello There, Summer

May 31, 2012 at 8:40 pm Leave a comment

Seriously, the first post of every month is going to begin like this- where the hell has the time gone? It feels like just days ago I was writing about how crazy it was that it was already May, but tomorrow it’s officially June?! Crazy pants! To me the start of June marks the start of Summer; I know it’s technically the 20th or something, but it feels like summer. Tyler only has about a week left of school, and when he’s done the summer feeling will be totally set in. Last weekend Jon and I helped his parents open their pool, and I cannot wait to swim in it! Figures it’ll barely be 70 degrees this weekend, when it’s been in the 80’s for the last several weeks, but that’s OK. If I have to go one more weekend pool-less, I can suck it up. I don’t even swim that much, I just like cooling off and laying on a raft, getting a tan. Which, might I add, I need BADLY! I swear my skin glows in the dark right now. We’re going over there on the 8th with some of our friends for a mini-pool party. I’m looking forward to it, but at the same time dreading it. I haven’t been thin or even fit since I had Tyler, and to make matters worse, I gained almost 30lbs. this past fall. Did I mention that the friends we’re having over are Jon’s friends, and are all guys? I don’t think it’s a secret to them that I’m not the smallest girl in the world, but I’m still not particularly happy that they get to see me in my swim suit. I don’t really care what they think of me, but I’m still super self-conscious. The bathing suit I wore last year isn’t going to fit me comfortably, so I need to go out and find something appropriate, which is going to suck. I love shopping, and always find the cutest clothes and whatnot, but then I try them on and I’m just like, “EW!” I’ve put into motion a diet of sorts, which I’ll get into another time, but even if I’m able to successfully stick to it it’ll be a while before I start seeing any results, and much, much longer until I’m remotely comfortable with my body.

I don’t really have anything excited planned for this summer. No vacations, trips, concerts, parties (aside from our little get-togethers), nothing. Tyler is going with my mom to Jacksonville in August to visit my aunt, uncle, and cousins for a few days, but that doesn’t do me any good, lol. All I have to look forward to is a whole lot of staying cool, getting tan, and hopefully finding a job. I’ve been on about 5 interviews in the last 2 months and still no luck. I’ve decided not to include my last employer on applications from now on, because I have a feeling they have a little something to do with my being screwed on a constant basis. I just stopped going, which I know is unprofessional and good reason for a new employer to not hire me, but I had my reasons and aside from the pain in the ass it’s causing me throughout my job hunt, I don’t regret it. I was treated like a slave bitch, under-appriciated, and under paid, and after 3 years of crap, one incident sent me over the edge and I was just like “fuck ’em.” I’m proud of myself for standing my ground and protecting my pride, but it’s unfortunate that potential new employers will look at that and consider me unreliable and unstable, when in reality, I’m a great worker. The problem is, I don’t have a whole lot of job experience. I worked my senior year in high school, and quit that June because I got pregnant. Then I was a full-time student for almost 4 years, along with being a full-time mother, so there wasn’t a lot of time for a job. After beauty school I got a job cutting hair but after 3 1/2 months of that I realized it wasn’t for me. I’m not one to give up, but when your hearts not in it, it’s hard to focus and do a good job. And when it comes to someone’s hair and head, you need to be on your game at all times, you know? Ugh…somethings gotta give eventually… I hope.

Anyway, I enjoyed doing the “photo-a-day” meme throughout May, so I’m going to carry that on through June. I still don’t have my camera fixed, so it’ll just be random pictures that I’ve already taken or things I find online, but it still gives me something to write about everyday, which I like. I obviously don’t have to blog everyday, but I like to. I don’t always have a lot to say on my own, so this gives me something to talk about. Just like last month, I probably won’t be able to post daily, but I’ll fit in every “topic” somehow. Tyler and I usually go to Jon’s on the weekends, and it’s a pain in the ass to upload photos with my iPad. I’m actually doing 2 different memes this month- one is a photo-a-day, and the other is more like a combination of photos and favorite things, etc. It’s fun for me, so deal. 😛


P.S. I’m loving all of the coverage of Britney at the X Factor auditions! She seems to be a really good fit, despite the tabloids trying to bring her down (as always), and I cannot wait until the show finally airs in September. I like Demi Lovato, too! She’s a trooper, just like Britters. 🙂

Entry filed under: Life, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

May 31st- Something Beautiful June 1st- Self-Portrait and Favorite Song

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

  • I can't watch pitch perfect without cringing at how fucking dumb and tacky it is... yet I can watch Full House and be fine (usually). 🤷🏼‍♀️ 2 days ago
May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

