I Survived Week One

July 16, 2012 at 1:02 pm Leave a comment

My new job has been going pretty good. Well, really good, I guess you could say. My only problem (aside from the fact that I have like zero clothes to wear to work) is the down time. They’ve been kind of slow this past week, so there was a lot of sitting/standing around and staring at the clock, which I can’t stand. I like to be busy, especially when I’m at work. It keeps me focused and time goes by much faster. Other than that, though, I think I’m doing a pretty good job. A lot of people have already told me that they’re impressed by how fast I’m catching on and whatnot. It’ll be a while until I’m completely comfortable with making appointments (every stylist has different finish times for different services, and it can be a bit confusing) but I’m fairly confident that I’ll learn quickly. I just hope this is a fluke week and most weeks are much busier. One of the things I really can’t stand, though, is the fact that there are two frozen yogurt places near where I work. Ugh, talk about temptation. There’s one a few doors down, and one in the plaza that’s across the street- and I can see both of them from our window. The worst is when people get something and walk right past our door, all happy eating their delicious fro-yo. Surprisingly I haven’t tried either of them yet, but you best believe when the time is right I will be tearing that shit up, lol.

Frozen yogurt aside, I’m hoping that now that I’m working again I’ll lose some weight. I lost a good 15-20 lbs. when I started working my last job, just from being up and active and not sitting around my house all day. From my “diet” alone I’ve already lost 5lbs. I can officially say that because the last several times I’ve weighed myself I’ve been consistently at this weight. Normally my weight would fluctuate back and forth, but so far it’s sticking for once. 5 lbs. is good, and I’m happy about it, but it’s been about a month and a half since I started eating better, and I definitely hoped for more by now. But I’m not giving up. After all, I wasn’t really super strict about anything. It’s hard to diet when you’re on a budget and also providing for an 8 year old. If it were just me it wouldn’t be as much of an issue, but I have to make sure that I’m buying food that my son will eat, too. And even though he definitely could afford to drop some weight himself, it’s not realistic to expect a child to eat salads and plain, grilled chicken every night.

Entry filed under: Fitness, Life, Work. Tags: , , , , , , .

July 16th- Sign July 17- My Addiction

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

  • RT @SamuelLJackson: So... How many Sons A' Bitches kneeling tomorrow??!! How many of Dotards boys firing Mothfukkas?? Odds??!! 14 hours ago
July 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

