All Work and No Play

August 8, 2012 at 5:46 pm Leave a comment

Ha, listen to me. I’ve been working again for barely a month, and only 3 or 4 days a week, at that, and it already has made me neglect my poor little blog. So far I’ve been working a little over 20 hours a week, and trust me I understand that is nothing compared to people with full time jobs, but all of my usual daily chores + being at Jon’s several days a week with shitty wi-fi + only having certain windows of inspiration and desire to blog = not a lot of blogging opportunities. But alas, here I am. Work has been going pretty good. I’m relatively comfortable with everything now, and they even have me closing by myself already. The only thing that sucks about closing is that you don’t always know when you’re going to be done. It all depends on the stylists, basically, and when they finish their last client. Sometimes it’s awesome and they finish their last appointment an hour or two before the salon closes and we get to leave, but sometimes they’ll finish well after close, or even the worst case scenario- take a walk-in at the last damn minute. I wouldn’t mind as much if I didn’t have a kid to get home to and more likely than not have to pick up Jon at work (since we’ve been sharing his car), but it is what it is and at the end of the day I’m so thankful and relieved to finally be working again. The 9 months I spent unemployed were awful. I enjoyed having a ton of free time and being able to relax whenever I wanted, but that didn’t overpower the feelings of worthlessness and worry that come along with being broke. I’m not making a whole lot of money right now, either, but it’s certainly better than nothing. Today I went into work on my day off to get my hair done, after letting my roots grow out for at least 3 or 4 months. It was much needed, let me tell you! Even though I have terrible split ends up and down the last 5 or 6 inches of my hair at least, I only got highlights to touch up my roots. Even though trimming my hair will make it appear healthier and promote better hair growth, I’m just not ready to cut it, lol. It took me almost 3 years to get to the length I’m at now (and it’s still only about 4 inches below my shoulders). Here is a picture I took of myself a few days ago:

And here is a picture of me a few minutes ago:

Yeah… you can’t really tell, I know. Stupid shadows and shitty webcams will do that. 😦 But take my word for it, my hair no longer has 3-4 inch dark roots and blonde ends. 😀 Yay! I’m thinking I’m going to get more foils and go a bit lighter next time, or even throw some more foils on the top in the next couple weeks, but overall I’m really happy to finally have normal-looking hair again. Because I work at the salon, I only had to pay for the products that were used, so it came to $9.50. Bonus! I tried tipping the girl that did my hair $20 but she absolutely refused to take it, after fighting with me about it for a good 5 minutes. I feel so bad, but that was super sweet of her.

Last week Tyler and my mom went to Jacksonville, FL to visit with my aunt, uncle, and cousins from Monday to Saturday. I only had off two of those days. I had intended on cleaning and reorganizing a lot, but didn’t get very far at all. I had off Thursday, so Wednesday night Jon and I had some of our friends over. The next day, I shit you not, I got out of bed maybe 3 times- once to fill up a jug with water and let my mom’s dog outside, once when Jon got home from work around 7pm to go pick up take out from TGI Fridays, and then another time to pee and let the dog out. Worst. Hangover. Ever. I didn’t even drink that much the night before, maybe 4 or 5 Strawberry Kiwi Pinnacle Vodkas + Sprite, but I was feeling it hardcore the next day. I also had off Saturday, so we went to our friend’s house for a bonfire. I only had a couple of beers that night, but still didn’t feel very well the next morning. I don’t know how I ever drank the way I did a couple of years ago, but even a few glasses of wine gets to me now. I like having a low tolerance, because it’s cheaper (lol), but damn… hangovers get the best of me now and it’s kind of pathetic. Anyway, Tyler and my mom had a great time during their vacation. They went to the beach twice (which I thought was bullshit- you don’t go to FL for 4.5 days and go to the beach just TWICE!), swam a lot at my aunt and uncle’s house, went shopping, to dinner, etc… Tyler mostly played video games with my cousins, lol, but he wouldn’t have it any other way. He’s turned into quite the little gamer. It kind of bothers me, because I would much rather him be doing something active and better for him, but I guess a lot of kids these days are into technology.

Well, that has been my last week and a half or so in a nutshell. Not very exciting. I work on Saturday, then 4 days in a row next week. The 4 days in a row doesn’t bother me, but I have to be there at 8:30am on Monday morning, which I’m really not looking forward to. Considering I’ll most like be staying at Jon’s house Sunday night (which is about 15 minutes tacked onto my already 15-20 minute drive to work) I’ll have to set my alarm for around 6:30am in order to give myself enough time to shower, get ready, and get to work on time… ew. A lot of the time I can barely fall asleep until 5 or 6 in the morning, so this should be interesting, haha. Until next time kiddos… 🙂

Entry filed under: Family & Friends, Life, Work. Tags: , , , , , , .

Oops! Chef Amy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

