School & Pineapple Smoothies

August 22, 2012 at 1:49 pm Leave a comment

I promise the title of this entry will make more sense as you read along. 🙂 I had a fun and somewhat relaxing 4 days off, but yesterday it was back to the grind. The worst thing about having that many days off in a row is going back to work. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled to be making money again and my job really isn’t bad at all while I’m there, but there were a few times I had to remind myself how miserable I was not working and how antsy I had become just sitting around the house most days. Friday we met my dad and stepmom for a delicious dinner. He surprised me by giving me a stack of gift cards as a “Christmas in July” sort of thing (even though it was August), and they couldn’t have come at a better time! Earlier that day Jon took his car in to get the long overdue 2 new tires we’ve been needing, and ended up needing a new alignment and tire rod (or something…) which cost about $600. Nice. Luckily, his mom has a Goodyear credit card that’s accepted at the garage he went to, so we’re paying her in installments, which helps a lot. Not to mention Jon’s car insurance was due this pay, so that’s $73 more that we didn’t have to spend. He gave us a bunch of restaurant gift cards (Cheesecake Factory, Friday’s, Chili’s, and Olive Garden = om nom nom!), Target, and some gas cards. Very nice, indeed! Plus, I have a $25 gift card to Macy’s that I earned on MySurvey.com that I have yet to use. I’ve already done a lot of damage on the Target and gas cards, and we got take-out from Chili’s Saturday and I got Friday’s last night, but hey, that’s what they’re for!

On Saturday we sucked it up, woke up before 9am, and went to the zoo. I had originally wanted to go Friday, since weekdays tend to be a little less crowded and to be completely honest I can’t stand people in those kind of situations. I go there to see the animals, not to wait in line and get frustrated with pushy people, lines, and parents who allow their children to run around and do whatever the hell they want. Unfortunately, it rained and stormed most of Friday, so Saturday it was, because I’ve been dying to go for almost 2 years and I wasn’t waiting anymore. The zoo opens at 9:30am, and we got there around 10ish, so it wasn’t too bad. Still more people than I would have liked, but not nearly as bad as I’ve seen in the past. To my delight, it wasn’t as expensive as I had thought it was going to be. I could’ve sworn the last time I was there it was getting close to $20 with Tyler being just as much as an adult entrance, and prices seem to go up each year, so I was expecting the worst. It was $14 for adults, and $12 for Tyler. Still sounds crazy that we paid $40 to go walk around and look at animals, but I validate that by thinking, “At least a lot of the money goes towards the wellbeing of the animals.” In that case, I’m happy to pay. I always love the zoo, aside from the overwhelming smell of “nature” at some of the exhibits, lol. The elephants, who are usually the worst smell-wise, have an outdoor area, as well as a small indoor area where the zookeepers bring them in from time to time for various reasons. I usually bypass the indoor section because they smell bad enough outside, but that particular day they brought one of the elephants inside to hose it down and whatnot. Normally that wouldn’t interest me, either, but the elephant they brought in just so happened to be the one that had a baby not too long ago, so the baby was inside with it. And I just can’t pass up baby animals! About 6 months ago one of the sea otters had a baby, too. There are actually “It’s a boy!” billboards and ads all over the greater Pittsburgh area, so I was super excited to see this cutie. He was a lot bigger than I had anticipated (maybe about 35lb. or so?) but still adorable. They had him inside in his own little area. He was swimming around in circles in what looked like a baby pool, holding a little dumbbell and interacting with everyone, and barking! At least it sounded like a dog bark, only at the pitch of a cat meow, if that makes sense, haha. I don’t know if there’s a proper term for the noise otters make, lol, but whatever it is, it was loud yet so cute. My favorite exhibit is always the penguins (and the big cats, whenever any of them get off of their lazy butts and actually do something! The tigers/leopard/snow leopard/lions are almost always plopped in a corner somewhere sleeping when I’m there!). We stayed and watched them for a good 10 minutes, at least. They’re always so cute and funny to watch, which is why they are one of my top favorite animals. I loved watching them “dive” into the water (more like belly flopping, lol), and hop up out of the water. Plus, it was feeding time so one of the zoo keepers came into their space with fish and handing them out one by one. It was so funny, as soon as the person came in they all bolted and crowded around her like a bunch of 12 year olds standing outside of Justin Bieber’s hotel, lol. I didn’t get to take any pictures or video like I usually do, because my camera still doesn’t work. It stopped reading the memory card for some reason, and even though I can afford to buy a new card now, I managed to lose the battery charger. 😦

Later that day we went out shopping at Dollar Tree and Five Below to get Tyler his school supplies. When it comes to that kind of stuff I’m all about cheap. After we got his list checked off we headed over to Target to take advantage of my gift cards, and for the first time ever I left with only things I needed, such as razors, hair ties, make-up remover, and mascara. WTF?! I can be flat broke and still manage to spend my ass off in Target. That’s the funny thing about having money to spend; when you have it, you never find anything. But when you’re broke, there’s $100 of things you want. Oh well, at least I have about $20 left on my card to spend. 🙂

Later that evening we were just relaxing and watching TV, when I got a craving for a smoothie. Normally I make smoothies with vanilla ice cream, which turns them into more of a milkshake, but that wasn’t the type of sweet tooth I had, so i opened the fridge and found the vanilla greek yogurt I was hoping I still had. It was a day or two past it’s sell-by date, but I tasted it and it seemed to be fine, so in the blender it went. I’ve recently found my new favorite flavor of Chobani greek yogurt- pineapple- and figured since I love the yogurt, a pineapple yogurt smoothie would be great. I originally planned on a banana smoothie, but remembered Jon’s mom had several cans of crushed pineapple in the pantry, so I grabbed one of those. I had intended on making it pineapple-banana, but being the moron that I am, I accidentally dumped the entire large can of pineapple in the blender, which turned out to be too much of a pain in ass to fish out, so I left it all in there with the yogurt, lol. I added milk, sugar, and ice, blended, and enjoyed. It was SO GOOD! I know pineapple smoothies are made all of the time, and the ingredients I used are very basic in smoothies, but rarely do I make something without a strict recipe that turns out so wonderful. Next time I’ll definitely limit the use of pineapple, and maybe add some cream of coconut or coconut shavings for a piña colada smoothie! The best part is it was really healthy! Well, I used sugar and 2% milk, but if I were at my house I would’ve used artificial sweetener and skim milk, making it much healthier. In case you’re interested, here’s what I used:

*1 Large Can of Crushed Pineapple (by accident- measure according to your preference)
*1 6oz. Container of Vanilla Greek Yogurt
*About a 1/2 Cup of Milk
*Ice (measure according to your preference)
*About a TBSP of Sugar (again, measure to your preference, or use artificial sweetener)

Major yums!!! Anyway, Tyler is all set for school, aside from a box of kleenex I need to get for him to take in. I can’t believe he goes back TOMORROW! And that he’s in 3RD GRADE! This summer really flew. In fact, this year is really flying. I know he’s excited to see all of his friends again, but that’s about it. He definitely takes after me in the sense that school isn’t his favorite thing in the world, aside from recess and socializing. Last year was the first year I really started struggling with him to do his homework and whatnot. I have a feeling it’s only going to get worse as he gets older, and the work becomes more like work rather than fun projects. Oh well, karma’s a bitch, lol. What sucks is for the past month or so Jon and I haven’t both had a day off from work that was swimming-appropriate (at least not warm and sunny enough for me to get some color), and this Friday is finally supposed to be perfect, but we’ll have to either wait until Tyler gets home from school around 4pm, or go over and swim and come back to my house to pick him up. I had a good tan going in June, but it has since faded almost entirely, so I NEED this sun before it’s too late, and I’m pale until next year. I think one of Jon’s friends is coming over to swim, too, so I guess we’ll just have to make sure we’re out of the pool and at my house by 4 to pick up Tyler. Hopefully next time I blog I’ll be darker… fingers are crossed. 🙂

Entry filed under: Family & Friends, Life. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Mini “Stay”cation Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Polish Review

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

  • RT @SamuelLJackson: So... How many Sons A' Bitches kneeling tomorrow??!! How many of Dotards boys firing Mothfukkas?? Odds??!! 14 hours ago
August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

