Happy Labor Day!

September 3, 2012 at 5:23 pm Leave a comment

I hope everyone is having a relaxing Labor Day, or at least had a nice Labor Day weekend! The best part of my new job is actually having off on holidays! We even closed a few hours early on Saturday, even though Labor Day wasn’t until today. At my last job, we weren’t closed very often at all- only Thanksgiving and Christmas. I worked Easter, 4th of July, and every other holiday. I even had to work until about 5 or so on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve- it blew, big time. Tyler went with my mom to my grandfather’s house for a mini-cookout, so I’m just sitting here relaxing by myself all day, which is actually quite nice. It’s going to suck being a day short when my paycheck comes, but I’ll deal. Sometimes you need some time to yourself to not have to do anything at all. 🙂 Normally we go to Jon’s house to stay for the weekend, but we caught a break this week and just stayed at my house. My mom took Tyler with her and my grandfather on Saturday to an annual rib cook-off so it seemed kind of silly to go to Jon’s on Friday night only to have to drive back to my house Saturday morning, then back to his house that night, and all the way back out here again on Sunday so Jon could go to work. It’s only about a 15 minute drive from his house to mine, but it adds up when gas is almost $4 a gallon. I ended up going into work Saturday for my co-worker who apparently wasn’t feeling well, anyway, so it all worked out. And it was nice to not have to deal with Jon’s crowded house for a week. His parents have been on his ass a lot lately for various things, plus his brother, sister-in-law, and nephew live there, and when Tyler and his cousin get together it can get really, really annoying as they don’t always “play nice.” Throw in the usual drama that seems to follow his family around, and it gets to be a bit much for me to handle (quietly, anyway) every week.

The next couple of weeks are going to suck financially. I didn’t work a lot the past few weeks since there were 4 receptionists working, so my paycheck was a bit low. One of the girls just went back to school, though, so from here on out I’ll be getting decent hours, luckily. Aside from my crappy paycheck, Jon owes his parents $250. We got two new tires for his car a couple of weeks ago, which ended up being almost $600 due to other problems that needed fixed, and his mom put it on her credit card since we obviously weren’t going to be able to swing that at once. Also, Jon has to buy a new toilet for his bathroom, which is going to be around $100. We’re probably going to have to wait until next payday for that, as we’re already really low on money right now. Ugh, I have such a love/hate relationship with money. I love it when I have it, but it’s the worst feeling in the world when I don’t. I guess that’s how everyone is, though.

Even though we just went to the zoo not too long ago, we’re going to try to plan a trip to Living Treasures in the next month or so. I’ve never been there so I’m really excited. It’s basically a zoo, a bit smaller, but you get to see the animals up close. It’ll be cool, but at the same time I think the animals are in much smaller, enclosed areas, which won’t be cool. I love animals, and would love to see exotic animals up close, but not if it’s causing them to live miserable lives. We’ll see how it is when we go. A few of Jon’s friends were supposed to come with us to the zoo originally, but due to weather and other conflicts Jon, Tyler, and I ended up going by ourselves, so we’re going to wait for a weekend when we’re all off and Tyler isn’t in school to go so everyone can come. We also want to wait for the weather to cool off a little, so we’re not walking around in high heat, which will also make the animals more comfortable and be up and active. It’s about an hour or two away, so we’ll probably make a whole day out of it. I think there’s some shopping outlets up that way, and a state park.

P.S. Check out my new Tumblr page! 🙂 I signed up almost a year ago, but didn’t get around to really posting anything until recently. It’s mostly going to be a collection of quotes and pictures that I like, mostly relating to movies, Britney Spears, and *N Sync, lol. What can I say, I still love my 90’s popstars!!!

Entry filed under: Family & Friends, Life. Tags: , , , , , , .

Egg + Olive Oil Hair Mask Review My Girls Are Coming to TV

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

