Dear Death, Go Fuck Yourself

January 31, 2013 at 9:47 pm Leave a comment

2013 is only 1 month old, and it seems like there has already been so much death around me. Luckily only one those deaths truly effected my day to day life, but there is still 11 months left. I’m hoping the year from here on out is smooth sailing, but I can’t help but wonder if the number 13 is trying to prove itself as a real bad luck charm. And it doesn’t help that my dad is having surgery one week from today. He’s just having a small, totally benign, mass removed from his chest but I don’t like the idea of him or anyone I love having any kind of surgery!

So, here is why this year has me freaked out already. My father’s aunt passed away in early January. We had visited with her literally one week before that, while we were visiting my dad’s side of the family for the holidays. She has been sick for a while, and sure didn’t look good when we saw her, but it was still weird for her to have went so soon after. On the 9th, I came home from work to my eldest kitty-baby not doing well at all. She was almost 18, and has been steadily losing weight for months, but this time it was much worse. Her meow sounded awful, she didn’t want to eat (which was VERY rare for her!), and could hardly walk the little bit she actually got up. I’ve had pets die before (hamsters, fish, and 2 cats were hit by cars when I was younger) but I’ve never been faced with the decision to actually have one put to sleep. I know most people say it’s what’s best, and that you’re doing them a favor if they’re in pain, but I really struggled with it actually being my decision to end her life. It was hard… so hard. I got her when I was 10, so she clearly has been a part of my life for a long time. I can only hope I did the right thing and that she’s in peace now, and I definitely hug my remaining two kitties a little longer each and every night. RIP Miss Harley, my sweet angel baby. ❤

Anyway, aside from those two, one of my co-workers lost her mother two weeks ago. I've overheard a few clients telling the stylists about deaths in their family, my best friend's aunt nearly died due to a surgery complication, and this past Sunday a kid my brother was friends with up through middle school died in a car accident. He was only 26, and wrecked on a road I drive on nearly every single day, to and from work. So scary, and such a shame. Ugh, bring on February (as long as it means improvements)!

To add a bit of positivity to this post, I did file my taxes this morning. It was such an accomplishment for me considering I’m usually the asshole on April 15th rushing to get them done at the last minute. It was super easy, and literally took me like 20 minutes. I used the same website that I used last year, TaxAct.com and assuming that this year goes through without any problems, I will definitely continue to use them in the future. It cost only $17.95 to e-file both the state and federal taxes, plus I’m getting back WAY more than I had anticipated, and all directly deposited into my checking account within 21 days. I only worked for 6 months last year, and they didn’t seem to be taking very much out of each paycheck, so I was pleasantly surprised!

Entry filed under: Family & Friends, Life. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Holy Brrrrrr! Schick Hydro Silk Razor Review

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

