Schick Hydro Silk Razor Review

February 22, 2013 at 3:12 pm 2 comments

I found the Schick Hydro Silk razor to have both pros and cons. As someone who typically has bad luck with most razors, I was excited to have the opportunity to try this product free of charge. Let’s face it- razors aren’t cheap (at least the decent ones aren’t) and considering I’ve tried many in the past that fell far short of my expectations, I’m very hesitant on spending money on razors I’ve never used before.

Upon receiving the razor, I was pleased to discover it had multiple blades. I’ve found that anything less than three is just not enough, unless you have next to no hair to remove and want to throw it away after one or two uses. I also was intrigued by the water-activated moisturizing serum. I noticed that it had two moisture strips, one on top and one on the bottom, which already was different from most razors I’ve tried that have had just one on the top. However, they didn’t appear to be very thick, so I was curious as to just how much moisture the razor would really provide. I was pleasantly surprised when I took it into the shower with me. As soon as I wet it down the serum started pouring out. I got an incredibly close shave, no cuts, and all without using shaving cream! Even with other razors that have hydration strips, I still tend to pair them with shaving cream, just to be safe. With that said, there may be a bit too much moisture given, at least within the first couple of uses. My legs were left somewhat slimy, similarly to if I were to have used shaving cream. Even as I was shaving, there was a gooey gel being spread with each pass, which is good in terms of hydration and protection, but a bit overwhelming. I had to go back over a few missed spots that were likely skipped over due to it looking like I had already went over that area with the razor. The serum was so heavy in spots that it covered up the hair. I didn’t particularly notice any additional hydration after the fact. I do like to put lotion on my legs immediately after shaving, so I’m used to the extra help the lotion provides. I will say, though, that I did not have as much razor burn as I usually tend to get.

It came with it’s own holder equipped with a suction cup for easy, convenient placement right in your shower, and I would highly recommend using it to store your razor in between uses. Especially if you’re like me and tend to forget to put the shield back on! The first time I used it, I left it sitting in the shower, face down. The next day I went in, picked it up, and the moisture strip stuck to the tile, and most of it ripped right off the razor. This, unfortunately, created a hard, uneven barrier around the actual blades, and therefore ruined the entire razor cartridge. I’ve done the same thing with other razors, but since this one uses an extremely moisturizing, water-activated serum to hydrate your legs, you want to keep it covered. I did like the handle and grip of the razor. It didn’t seem extremely different or even better than others that I’ve tried, but it was nice. The cartridge and razor size was a little big and not very flexible, so it may be difficult to manipulate in smaller areas, but using it on my legs was easy as pie, and the larger size allowed it to cover more surface area making for a much quicker shave.

In the future I will likely continue using this product. I probably won’t use it daily, but it’ll be nice for quick shaving emergencies as I won’t have to get out the shaving cream! And with summer coming, this will definitely come in handy!

Note: I am a member of BzzAgent and was able to try this product for free in return for my honest opinion.

Entry filed under: Reviews. Tags: , .

Dear Death, Go Fuck Yourself Garnier Olia Hair Color Review

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Must Have Boxes  |  February 22, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    I have this razor and it works really well.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com/

    Reply
  • 2. Muscle Maximizer Review  |  June 22, 2013 at 7:51 am

    Anyhow, the Somanabolic Muscle Maximizer is unique from the feeling that it’s not a normal exercise application but a specific one particular which helps various folk attain their diverse health and fitness targets. The 62 page Somanabolic Weight Training program that details the specific workouts you need to do depending on your somatotype (body type) in order to pack on lean muscle mass. No make a difference what sort of fat coaching regimen you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

