Garnier Olia Hair Color Review

April 1, 2013 at 4:34 pm Leave a comment

I should start out by saying that I decided to use this product on someone else. I work in a hair salon and therefore get my hair done for free, professionally, by a stylist who would’ve been none too pleased to learn that I went ahead and dyed my own hair. We’re like walking, little advertisements for the salon, after all! Luckily, my boyfriend (hesitantly) volunteered to be my guinea pig. 🙂

I’ve used several different brands of boxed hair dyes in the past. You name one, I’ve probably tried it or consistently used it at one point. The two major problems I’ve always had with over the counter hair color is the smell and the fact that it didn’t leave my hair in the best condition. My boyfriend’s hair is naturally a light, ashy brown. I didn’t want to stray too far from his natural color, despite him begging me to go darker, so I decided on the Light Chestnut Brown (Shade 6.35) so I could warm up his color without compromising his natural tone. There were a couple of small differences I immediately noticed. First of all, the developer came in a tube rather than a bottle. In my experience, the developer came pre-measured in the application bottle. This new form of packaging was neat, but not totally necessary. Secondly, the gloves were much thicker and thus more effective than the wimpy, thin, plastic bag-esque gloves that accompany most other brands. Good gloves are a must when dealing with hair color, unless you want stains on your hands!

Finally came time for the application. The formula was a bit runny, at least for a cream hair color, but not so much that it was dripping everywhere. The application bottle was uniquely shaped, and the narrow nozzle provided for easy, on-point application. The smell of the dye was probably the best part of the whole experience. Many brands that claim to be odor and ammonia-free still require you to turn the exhaust fan on in your bathroom while using them, and this one was very mild, with a light floral scent. I left the product on for the recommended time, 20-30 minutes, and had him rinse, shampoo, and condition his hair. He loved the way the provided conditioner made his hair feel, by the way! Once his hair was air-dryed I checked out the results. To be honest, I didn’t notice a real difference in the health, shine, or overall texture of his hair. This is actually a good thing, though, because at least this meant that it wasn’t damaged. And while I’m being honest, the color did not come out as I had envisioned. I didn’t take into consideration the natural undertones of his hair color, which more than likely was the reason his shade ended up being a bit too red rather than the light/medium warm brown shade indicated on the box.

Color aside, I was really pleased with this product. The oil-based formula proved to not be a “hair killer” and had a very pleasant scent, which is are key components for a pleasant, at-home, hair coloring experience. If I ever choose to go back to boxed hair coloring, I will definitely put Garnier Olia on my list of top considerations!

Note: I am a member of BzzAgent and was able to try this product for free in return for my honest opinion.

Entry filed under: Beauty, Reviews. Tags: , , , , .

Schick Hydro Silk Razor Review Playtex Secret Balconette Underwire Bra Review

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Amy Blog

Hello, I'm Amy! I was born in '85 and live in Pittsburgh, PA. I became the mama of my wonderful son in 2004, and also own 3 kitties that I treat like children. I am a self-admitted cosmetics and beauty addict, but I also enjoy fashion, music, art, and am totally guilty of reading way too much celebrity gossip. :P

Twitter Updates

  • I can't watch pitch perfect without cringing at how fucking dumb and tacky it is... yet I can watch Full House and be fine (usually). 🤷🏼‍♀️ 2 days ago
April 2013
S M T W T F S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

